Destination Italy
Italy Campania 

A Guide to Campania

Campania is a region of Southern Italy, bordering on Latium to the north-west, Molise to the north, Apulia to the north-east, Basilicata to the east, and the Tyrrhenian Sea to the west. The region covers 13,595 kmĀ² and has a population of 5.8 million.

Provinces of CampaniaCampania is divided into the provinces of Avellino, Benevento, Caserta, Naples (Napoli), and Salerno. The regional capital is Naples (Napoli).

The name derives from Latin, as it was called by Romans "Campania felix" ("fortunate countryside"), a name that is shared by the French province of Champagne.

Tourist attractions include the Sibyl's cave at Cumae, the Greek temples at Paestum, the Roman ruins at Pompeii and Herculaneum, the volcanoes of Vesuvius, Campi Flegrei and Ischia, the Amalfi Coast (Costiera Amalfitana) from Sorrento to Salerno, the islands of Capri, Ischia and Procida, and the village of Calitri.
There are no articles for this region. Be the first to write one »

Back to top

Italy guides - book shop

NEW! Go to our Travel Store


Featured hotels

Subscribe to our Newsletter

$50 Amazon Voucher up for grabs every month! Sign-up now »

Search Destination Traveler

Quick availability

Destination Traveler Home    |    About us    |    Contact Us    |    Privacy Policy    |    Site Map

© Destination Traveler 2006-2024