Destination Italy
Italy Trentino Alto-Aldige 

A Guide to Dolomiti

Dolomite is the mountainous territory of the Dolomites that extends between the districts of Trentino Alto Adige and Veneto, and is subdivided into the Western and Eastern Dolomites. The first scholar to study chemical composition Déodat de Dolomieu, gave his name to the Dolomites. The population of the Dolomites love the spectacular awe inspiring mountains and are very proud of them as they have been for centuries before.

The traditional ‘ladino’ language is still spoken in certain areas of the Dolomites, including: Badia, Val Gardena, Livinalongo, Val di Fassa, Val d'Ampezzo, Cadore, Agordino, Val di Zoldo and Comelico. The fauna is incredible, it is comprised of a mixture of woods and forests, with over 1500 different species including 50 types of orchid, it is considered to be amongst the largest in Europe.

There are also many species which live exclusively in the Dolomites. The fauna also has a wealth of indigenous animals including the chamois, ibex, the royal eagle, owl and crow.
There are no articles for this town. Be the first to write one »

Back to top

Italy guides - book shop

NEW! Go to our Travel Store


Featured hotels

Subscribe to our Newsletter

$50 Amazon Voucher up for grabs every month! Sign-up now »

Search Destination Traveler

Quick availability

Destination Traveler Home    |    About us    |    Contact Us    |    Privacy Policy    |    Site Map

© Destination Traveler 2006-2020